Ottawa Valley Food Co-operative

Board Members


 Cheryl Keetch, Coordinator





Joanne McManus, Treasurer

Joanne McManus is the current treasurer for the Ottawa Valley Food Co-op board. As the treasurer she is responsible for managing our financial resources. She has worked as an organizational change management and business process management expert within the finance industry and with a number of non-profit organizations. Ms. McManus has a strong background in both finance and accounting. In previous work, she has been responsible for multi-currency, multi-million dollar budgets. She has experience in all aspects of financial forecasting, resource allocation, fund management, accounting and control. Ms. McManus received a Bachelor of Environmental Science from the University of Waterloo, a Master of Arts in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University and is a Certified Management Accountant. Currently based in Burnstown, Ontario, she grows organic vegetables to supplement food she buys through OVFC.


Chris Tanner

Chris has been on the OVFC board for 3 years and is currently the secretary. He is an active OVFC consumer member and was part of a food coop in Deep River during the 1970’s and 80’s, where he also served on the executive. He served as treasurer of the Deep River Choral Group for a number of years, is on the board of THEOP, which presents concerts in Deep River, and is a member of the executive on the local NDP riding association. He retired from AECL in 2003, where he worked for most of his career, primarily as a computer engineer.


Robert Dobson

Robert is a founding member of OVFC and the past president. He has been a beef farmer in Renfrew County for 40 years. For the past 10 years he has direct marketed his beef through a farmers market in Ottawa, on line and farm gate sales. For the past 6 years he has also sold his beef through the Ottawa Valley Food Co-operative (OVFC). Robert has been active in a number of agricultural organizations, including serving a term as president of the Ontario Cattlemen’s Association, director of the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association and chairman of their Environmental Committee.


Daniel McCarthy – President

Daniel McCarthy, a lawyer by training, worked with the United Brotherhood of Carpenters as Director of Research until his recent retirement in the spring of 2013. He has sat on various Boards of Directors of non-profit corporations including the Institute for Work and Health and the Canadian Union Advantage Benefit Program. McCarthy lives in Burnstown, Ontario. He is an avid “birder” and still enjoys recreational hockey.


Gregg Parsons

Gregg is a chemist by training, recently retired from a chemical distributer where he had worked in the quality and regulatory area the food, pharmaceutical divisions. He has moved onto a farm outside Eganville where he and his wife Michele have a market garden, chickens for eggs, and bees. They are using a team of Belgian horses to do the heavy work on the farm. They are producer members that sell vegetables in season and sour dough bread year round. Gregg is a photographer who sells his prints and has run a community based photography club for a number of years.

Ashleigh Cluff

Ashleigh (Ash Anne) moved with her family to the Ottawa Valley from Dartmouth N.S. in 2017. While living in Nova Scotia, she started OH! Bagel, an organic, gluten-free, sourdough bagel business, vending at the famous Keith’s Brewery market in Halifax. Ash Anne attended the University of Waterloo for her undergraduate degree in anthropology, with a special interest in the relationship between food and culture, as well as the use of food as medicine cross-culturally. She went on to earn her designation as a registered holistic nutritionist and continues to develop her knowledge and experience in implementing the use of food as medicine. She has been a consumer member of the coop since discovering its existence after her relocation. Ash Anne enjoys spending her free time learning about the secret and sacred lives of plants and the wisdom they hold. She joined the board in 2019 to contribute to the continuation of an important food system component in the Ottawa Valley.

Marshall Buchanan
Dwight Mick
Sarah Bennett